

MENPS News

Te Whare Akoranga o Maungawhau, December 14, 2021

From the Principal

Kia ora koutou,

As an unusual school year comes to an end and the Auckland border lifts, a final note for the year to wish everyone all the best and to pass on important information for Term 1, 2022.

Given the level of disruption we've all experienced, one change to be aware of is that our first day will effectively be a Teacher Only Day as we will be starting the year with a 'Welcome Day'. This will allow dedicated time to connect one to one with your new child's teacher, discuss the year ahead, and bring your child along if you wish to. Sessions will be booked for 15 minutes per family, so please make a note of the date in your diary and see the link below to book a time.

We still plan to run our usual conferences later in the term, but feel it is important to commit some time to reconnect with each family on our return next year.

It's a time for change and reflection in many ways, but I'm pleased to confirm that we have a fully staffed teaching team next year. I would like to take this opportunity to thank and pass on best wishes to Madeline Williams, Sophie Manser, Kim Williams, Catherine Jang, Alicia Venter, Ciaran Martin and Emma Cleland, who we farewell this week. Each of them has made an outstanding contribution to our school, and we wish them well on their next steps and 'bon voyage' to those who will be relocating to be closer to family after such a difficult couple of years.

Gill and Melinda will also be stepping back from their shared Resource Manager role next year, and I would like to thank them for helping keep the school stocked, organised and in good order during their time with us. Julie Brennan, who has served the school for many years, will also be moving on from her role as teacher aide and all-round 'matron' of the Sick Bay, and leaves with warmest wishes from us all.

This means we look forward to welcoming a few new faces next year, which I'm sure will be exciting for the children also. I know that Ellen, Ariane, Rebecca, Emily and Lucy will receive a warm welcome, along with our returning maternity staff Lucy Matene and Gabby Bilkey. Please see below for the full list of our teaching teams at each year level.

Next year, Associate Principal Nicky Hill has been granted study leave, and so we wish her well with her studies and are pleased to have Aone Laufili stepping up into an Acting Associate Principal Role for 2022. Martina Stevenson will be taking on a newly-created role as Curriculum Lead Teacher for 2022, which will be key to the additional learning supports we will have in place, particularly for those children who have experienced disruption to the early years of learning due to the pandemic. Congratulation also go to Brad McMahon and Angharad Cavanagh, who take on Team Leader roles.

While we can't completely rule out challenges ahead, I feel as confident and enthused as ever about the stellar team we have in place, and I know everyone will pull together once again when school re-opens full time next year.

Finally, my sincere thanks. I would particularly like to acknowledge my colleagues on the teaching staff, support staff, Board, PTA and the Senior Leadership Team for their considerable efforts during turbulent times. Adversity can test the culture and values of any organisation, but I am assured that at MENPS we have remained as strong and committed as ever to the children who are at the heart of all we do.

And so...Happy Holidays, Merry Christmas, and a very Happy New Year. See you on the other side!

Ka kite anō au i a koutou

Alan Jackson

Principal



Book your 'Welcome Day' session time for Tuesday, February 1, 2022

To book, visit www.schoolinterviews.co.nz and use the code 3n4z2



YEAR 1

Persia Iwan (Team Leader) Angela Mealings Catherine Stichbury-Bean Ellen Taylor Susan Duncan/Vanessa Su'a



YEAR 2 Nicole Bailey (Team Leader) Bronwyn Williams Ciara Broder Gabby Bilkey



YEAR 3 **Angharad Cavanagh** (Team Leader)

Lauren Davies Maddie Lath Lucy Matene/Rachel Leulu Leanne Roddam



YEAR 4

Sean McKenzie (Team Leader)

Disha Sanjanwala
Donnalena McCarthy
Jessalyn Jordan
Ariane Cox



YEAR 5

Brad McMahon (Team Leader)

Shereen Edgecombe Amber Fordham Jaya Kalro Rebecca Boyes



YEAR 6

Christina Levi (Team Leader)

Brent Beaumont Emily Critcher Brianna Sivewright Lucy Gilbert

2022 Term Dates

TERM 1: Tuesday 1 February - Thursday 14 April

- Tuesday, 1 February Welcome Day (Teacher Only Day)
- Waitangi Day (observed): Monday 7 February
- Good Friday: Friday 15 April

TERM 2: Monday 2 May - Friday 8 July

- Teacher Only Day: Friday 3 June
- Queen's Birthday: Monday 6 June
- Matariki: Friday 24 June

TERM 3: Monday 25 July - Friday 30 September

TERM 4: Monday 17 October - Thurs 15 December

- Teacher Only Day: Friday 21 October
- Labour Day: Monday 24 October

